best breakfast skillet

Brunch is totally the best.  In Tofino over new years, we had the most amazing breakfast called a Wildman Skillet at the Beachfront Bistro in the Tin Wis hotel.  I don’t really remember what exactly was in it but I wanted to try and make something inspired by it.  (I don’t know if this is weird but I really like trying to replicate things that I’ve eaten at restaurants.)   Also, I just got my very first cast iron skillet yesterday so today was the day.  I generally make way too much food so I’m going to say this serves between 2 to 3 people, depending on how hungry you are.

cheddar cheese (shredded, about 3/4 cup)  /  1/2  red pepper  /  1/2 green pepper  /  a handful of crimini mushrooms  /  2 eggs  /  4 – 6 breakfast sausages (really, all these ingredients you can use however much or little as you want)  /  1/2 yellow onion  /  a couple handfuls of baby potatoes  /  seasoning salt

photo-18

Halve the baby potatoes and put them into a pot of water to parboil until fork-tender.  In the meantime, finely chop up the onion and peppers, quarter the mushrooms, and cut up the sausages into bite-size pieces.  As the potatoes are well on their way to being cooked through, in a skillet or frying pan over medium to medium-high heat, add a bit of olive oil and stir in the onion and sausages  for a few minutes or until the sausage has cooked through.  Add the mushrooms and stir around for a couple of minutes or so then add the parboiled potatoes.  I wanted my potatoes to brown and crisp up a bit so I just kinda pushed all the rest of the ingredients in the skillet to one side and dumped the potatoes into the empty side with a bit more olive oil.  I’m kinda lazy and just didn’t want to have more dishes to wash after but you could also use another frying pan or whatever to cook the potatoes in if you want.  Sprinkle some seasoning salt over the potatoes and stir-fry them until browned.

In the meantime, heat some water in a saucepan to soft-poach your eggs in.  I know poaching eggs can be a bit tricky but whenever I poach eggs, I like to add some vinegar to the water and crack each egg into a small bowl first.   Then, with the water turned down to a simmer, swirl around the water a bit with a slotted spoon and then tip each egg in; they usually work out perfect.  To test to see if your egg is soft-poached, after a minute and a half or so (depending on the size of your egg and whether it just came out of the fridge) just slip it out of the water with a slotted spoon and gently touch the middle with your finger and it should still feel soft but not so soft that it’s jiggly.  As your eggs are poaching, add the peppers and stir-fry for a minute or two.  Top with the shredded cheese and put under the broiler just to melt the cheese.  Plop your poached eggs on top and ta-da!

breakfast skillet

Rock says it was delicious and it reminded him of beautiful BC.  This dish took quite a bit of time to make but it’s worth it.  It’s no breakfast-on-the-go, but really good for a lovely and lazy Sunday brunch.

3 thoughts on “best breakfast skillet

  1. I remember staying at Tin Wis when I was little and it was amazing. I need to go back. As for your breakfast, we make something similar at our place too and call it a breakfast bowl. And by we, I mean Sylvain makes it for me 😛 Yours looks deelish.

  2. Pingback: i love cape town: the old biscuit mill favourite | eating in moose jaw

Leave a Reply

