brrrrrrrownies!

I have a potluck tomorrow at my new job and I don’t really know what kinda stuff people usually bring but I figured you can’t go wrong with brownies.  I heard there’ll be maybe like 40 people there and so, while Rock tells me a potluck for 40 does not mean I need to feed 40, I decided to make a big batch just in case.  Plus, I would of course have to taste test a brownie, so y’know…  And Rock too.

1 and 1/2 cups butter (melted)  /  3 cups sugar  /  6 eggs (we only had extra large eggs, so if that’s your case as well, then just use 5)  / 3 tsp vanilla extract  /  1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour  /  1 cup cocoa  /  1 tsp baking powder  /  1 tsp salt

photo-20

Preheat the oven to 350F and line a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with parchment paper (or if you don’t have parchment, grease it).  In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugar and vanilla.  Add the eggs and mix in.  In another bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients while beating until smooth.  Spread the batter into the pan and bake for about 40 minutes.  Cool and cut up into squares.

photo-21

photo-22

I hadn’t made brownies in years and I remembered them to be easy-peasy but to be honest I don’t think these turned out perfect.  Don’t get me wrong; it was totally easy to make.  But the top cracked more than I would have liked and after doing some googling, I think it’s from mixing too much after adding eggs.  Having said that, a bit of crisp on the top I think is really good so I think just be aware that more mixing can lead to more cracking on the top.  Anyway, this doesn’t actually affect the taste of the brownies and these are very good.  Even though I’m super full from eating a mountain of chicken wings for dinner, I couldn’t resist eating a brownie while it was still warm out of the oven.  The whole house smells like chocolate right now; it’s awesome.  Rock and his mega sweet tooth are out at hockey right now but I’m sure he’ll head straight for a brownie when he gets home.

Leave a Reply

