chinese fast food: chicken and broccoli stir-fry

It’s day 3 of my new job in Regina and I am pooped.  All this commuting is taking its toll on me as I leave the house by 7am and don’t get home ’til around 5:30pm.  Yuck.  Anyway, while my body is adjusting to the long days, by the time I get home I just wanna cook up something fast and easy for dinner and then flop onto the couch.  Tonight I made a stir-fry that my sister, Reyna, made for me before that’s quick and tasty.  It’s also got the added benefit of getting some much-needed veggies into my body.

Serves 2 – 3 people

2 chicken breasts  /  about 1 crown of broccoli  /  3-4 cloves of garlic  /  soy sauce  /  sesame oil  /  canola oil

photo-23

Mince (or press with a garlic press like I did tonight because that’s how tired and lazy I am) the garlic and roughly cut up the broccoli and chicken into bite-size pieces.  Heat up a splash of canola oil in a wok over medium-high heat.  Stir in the garlic and then the chicken, cooking for a few minutes until the chicken is close to being cooked through.  Add the broccoli and then pour over some soy sauce, maybe about 3 to 4 tsp depending on your taste, and some sesame oil, about 1 and a 1/2 tsp.  Stir-fry until the chicken has cooked through and the broccoli is cooked through but still has some good bite to it.  Serve with steamed rice.

photo-24

We are now good and full and happily lounging in front of the tv.

Leave a Reply

