review: cornerstone inn pub and eatery

We stopped by the Cornerstone last night because my friend Kelly and her crew were there.  I don’t know if it’s just because it was a Friday but it was pretty packed and had a good busy vibe.   From the outside, the place does not look the most appealing but inside it’s actually really nice and clean and a good place for a drink.  As it was only 6:30 though, we figured we needed something to eat to go along with our drinks.  Their website seems to be down but from what I recall the menu was basic pub fare, stuff like potato skins, pizzas, pastas, burgers, sandwiches.  I just copied Rock and got a crispy buffalo chicken wrap.  The wrap itself tasted good but unfortunately only about half of it actually had chicken in it and the rest was just tortilla and lettuce.  If they had actually filled that big guy up it would have been really good!  And if it were up to me, I’d have stuffed a bit of cheese in there too just for good measure.  The fries we both didn’t really like; they just seemed kinda overcooked and soggy.  That’s all the input Rock can give me as he’d already been drinking at that point for hours and doesn’t remember much more than that… The fries weren’t brown from seasoning but seemed to me probably more from old oil.  But I dunno, maybe some people are into that.  I did eat like half the fries anyway though because I was still hungry after my wrap, which I didn’t finish after all the chicken was gone, so it’s not like they were the worst.   Overall, I’d say the food was fine but not great.  However, a guy we were with enthusiastically claimed that the ‘colossal’ burger (I think that’s what he called it) there is THE absolute best burger in all of Moose Jaw.  Rock was looking at the dude’s burger pretty longingly so I’m sure we’ll be back to give it a try sometime.

photo-25

Cornerstone Inn Pub and Eatery on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

