shortcut to japanese curry with broccoli

Back in the day when I was in Japan, my lovely friend Julia introduced me to something amazing called Japanese curry.  I never even knew such a dish existed but then I became obsessed.  Everything in Japan tastes so amazing but Japanese curry really stands out in my mind.  It was quite a number of years ago but I feel like we must have eaten curry all over the country.  I remember especially being into curry with chicken and then topped with melted mozzarella cheese, soooo good!  Anyway, I know there are recipes out there for the curry sauce but you can get bricks of instant curry roux that make curry which tastes exactly as I remember.  Also, according to wikipedia so it must be true, curry is most commonly made in Japanese households using instant curry roux, so I feel totally good about taking this shortcut.

There really is no need for there to be a recipe post for this because there’s a recipe on the back of the box of curry roux.  But I have never necessarily followed it exactly plus, really, I just want to spread the love for Japanese curry.  I usually make this with chicken but I had a real hankering for broccoli today and it worked out well.  Also, a box of curry roux says it makes 5 servings but I think it’s more like 3 servings or 2 Rock-sized servings.  I have always used Glico brand curry, which I think I got at either Sobey’s or Safeway, so I can’t comment on the other brands.  But if you can’t find it I’ve seen another brand at Superstore which is supposed to be good.

1 box of Glico brand medium curry roux  /  1 carrot  /  1/2 yellow onion  /  2 cloves garlic  /  1 – 2 crowns of broccoli  / canola oil

photo-13

Mince the garlic, finely dice the onion, dice up the carrot, and cut up the broccoli into bite-sized pieces.  With a splash of oil in a large frying pan, stir-fry the onions until translucent.  Add the garlic, carrot and broccoli and stir-fry for a couple minutes.  Add 2 cups of water and bring to a boil.  Turn the heat down to medium, cover, and let it simmer until the broccoli and carrots are tender.  Break up the curry roux brick and stir in.  Lower the heat a bit more and just kind of stir it around until the sauce has thickened.

Japanese curry

Serve with calrose/sushi rice.  We also shredded a bit of pizza mozzarella to melt over which I know sounds weird but it is really good.  This was Rock’s first time eating Japanese curry and he says he really likes it and there is “a lot of very nice flavours but it’s not spicy.”  If you’ve never had Japanese curry before, I really, really, really encourage you to try it, you won’t regret it!  Next time I really want to try making pork katsu curry because sometimes/a lot of times my craving for broccoli is replaced by a craving for something fried.

2 thoughts on “shortcut to japanese curry with broccoli

  1. My husband is Japanese and I love Japanese curry. I usually make it with pork, onions, carrots and potatoes. The first thing I tasted when I visited Japan was yokan and I found it so delicious!

Leave a Reply

