breakfast grilled cheese

Summer is finally here!  On this lazy sunday I decided to try and make something new up for our breakfast since Rock is busy being completely absorbed in a science fiction novel.  I looove grilled cheese sandwiches (especially those that are made with Kraft singles and disturbing amounts of butter; I blame my wonderful processed foods-filled childhood ) so I thought I’d make up a more breakfast-y version of a grilled cheese.

for 1 sandwich you’ll need:  2 slices of whole wheat bread  /  1 large egg  /  1 slice honey ham  /  baby spinach  /  butter  /  shredded cheese (of course!) – any type of cheese you like.  today I used extra old cheddar

photo 2-28

This hardly really needs instructions but I’ll give them to you anyway!  In a large pan over medium heat, cook your egg over easy and just give your ham a bit of a grill then plop them aside on a plate.  Next up, just assemble your sandwich.  A bottom slice of bread, a layer of shredded cheese, then the egg, ham, a little handful of spinach, and then more cheese to top it off and the top layer of bread.  Melt a generous pat of butter in the pan and grill up the first side of the sandwich.  If it’s browning too quickly just turn down the heat a bit so the cheese will all melt.  Using a spatula, pick up the sandwich, melt more butter in the pan and then grill the other side.  Rock said it was a very tasty sandwich and gobbled up his in like 2 minutes.

photo 1-27

2 thoughts on “breakfast grilled cheese

  1. looks very tasty! i’m going to vancouver soon. do you have any recommendations for eats/places to go?

  2. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

