smoked salmon and brie quiche

Ever since I messed up a quiche the other week, I was determined to make a (near) perfect one.  So I set out to do some research and this is what I learned: You must blind-bake the crust.  I was too lazy to do this, plus a lot of recipes don’t tell you to do it, so I figured it was a step I could skip… but nope!  You have to have all the filling ingredients cooked and drained of all liquid so that your quiche won’t end up all soppy.  And finally you must let the quiche sit and keep slowly cooking after it comes out of the oven.  Some recipes say 10 minutes and some say overnight; I went with one hour.  Oh and one thing I knew already but I’ll just put it out there anyway, the ratio of milk to eggs for a quiche is 1 cup of milk to 2 large eggs.

Anyway, I decided to make a quiche using 2 things I deem extra yummy: smoked salmon and brie.  I added veggies in for perhaps a bit of balance.  Plus I used 2% milk so this is practically healthy-ish…!?

1 defrosted ready-made 9 inch deep-dish pie crust (or make your own pastry!)  /  1 cup milk (or cream if you’re feeling like you need some extra comfort)  /  2 large eggs  /  1-2 cups grated emmenthal cheese  /  ~ 5 stalks of asparagus  /  1/4 red pepper  /  70 grams or so of smoked salmon  /  a handful of baby spinach  /  ~ 5 chives  /  5-6 slices of brie  /  salt and pepper to taste  /  avocado or olive oil

IMG_3834

First do the prep.  Dice the red pepper, roughly chop the spinach.  Snap off the woody ends of the asparagus.  I don’t know where I learned you’re supposed to do that but I just hold the ends of the asparagus stalk and bend it so that it just snaps itself at the right place. Dice up the asparagus too and then throw all the veggies into a frying pan with a bit of oil over medium heat and cook through; about 3-4 minutes probably.  Drain the veggies thoroughly on top of some paper towel.

Preheat the oven to 375F.  Combine the milk and eggs and season with salt and pepper.  When the oven’s ready, it’s time to blind-bake the crusts.  Apparently this is something that you can’t do ahead of time so make sure you’ve got your quiche filling pretty much ready to go.  Cover the crust with a piece of parchment or foil and fill the crust with just some dried beans (or pie weights if you have them… but I’m guessing if you have these then you definitely don’t need me to tell you how to blind-bake!).  The weight of the beans will keep the crust from bubbling up and shrinking in while baking.  I didn’t really know what I was doing but I baked the crust for about 8 minutes or so and then removed the beans and foil and baked for another 6 or 7 minutes.

Remove from the oven and turn down the heat to 350. Now to fill the crust.  Spread most of the emmenthal on the bottom and then the veggies next.  Tear up the smoked salmon and place that on top and then snip over the chives.  Next scatter over the rest of the emmenthal and then the final layer will be the brie (just cus I wanted to see the brie on the top).  Now pour over the milk-egg mixture and pop it in the oven for about 40 to 45 minutes.   Let it sit after for I would say at least 45 minutes to make sure the quiche is set and then it’s ready!

IMG_3845 IMG_3849

Overall it turned out pretty well.  I actually made 3 of them for a dinner that night!  If you have any tips for quiches that you could share though I’d like to keep working on it!

One thought on “smoked salmon and brie quiche

Leave a Reply

