tomato strudel

We had these savoury pastries called tomaten strudel or tomaten snacks quite a few times when we were in Germany and Austria earlier this year and I decided to try and make them myself!  Problem was, I couldn’t find any solid recipes.  I found one that was in German that used ketchup and cherry tomatoes but the page wasn’t translating well so I figured I’d just try and make something up.

Makes 8 strudel.

2 sheets of defrosted but fridge-cold puff pastry (or you can make your own!)  /  2/3 tin of whole plum tomatoes (I used a whole can and ended up with a lot of filling leftover) /  1 small tin of tomato paste  /  1/4 yellow onion  /  2 tsp sweet paprika  /  1 tsp hot paprika  /  1/2 tsp garlic powder  /  salt to taste  /  ~1/8 cup sesame seeds  /  avocado or olive oil  /  1 beaten egg (for the egg wash)

image

Preheat the oven to 375F and start heating up a splash of oil in a saucepan over medium heat for the tomato filling.  Finely dice up the onion and cook in the oil until softened through.  Next, add in the tomatoes (drained) and let them cook down a bit, giving it a stir every now and again.  Then add in the tomato paste, the paprikas, garlic powder and salt and let it all cook together for a few minutes.  Remove from the heat and let the tomato mixture cool down a bit.

I baked these in 2 batches so with a knife, cut the first sheet of pastry into 4 equal rectangles.  With the pastry rectangles facing you lengthwise, score some slashes running horizontally on one half of the pastry.  Now I find it easier to take the parchment with the pastry on it and transfer straight onto your baking sheet.  Space the pastry out a bit (which is not what is shown in the photo. Oops.) as they will puff up quite a bit.  Then take about 2 spoonfuls of the tomato filling and place it vertically down the other half of the pastry.  See the photo for reference ‘cus I’m finding that I can’t explain properly in words!

image

Fold the pastry over and, using a fork, just press down along the long side of the strudel to seal it, leaving the ends open.  Brush the top with the egg wash and sprinkle some sesame seeds on top.

Bake in the oven for about 20 to 25 minutes or until all puffed up and a nice golden colour.  And then repeat with the next batch!

image

image

I was pretty unsure if these would turn out and in fact halfway was sure it was a total disaster… but I’m quite happy with they turned out!  Rock said they’re super close to what we had back on our trip which is what I wanted to achieve so, success.  We also had savoury strudels that were filled with spinach and I think feta cheese so maybe I’ll try that next time!

 

 

One thought on “tomato strudel

Leave a Reply

