my holiday obsession: Christmas shortbread cookies

Our family friend gives us a tin of the BEST cookies ever every Christmas.  They’re like these little magical shortbread cookies that aren’t too sweet, super addictive and all tender and melt in your mouth-y.  They’re really the only cookies that I truly fantasize about and  can’t stop eating.  These are practically a Christmas tradition and I was so happy when she sent over a tin with my dad last year when we were spending the holidays in Moose Jaw with our then new baby.  This year we’re in Quebec for Christmas and so I asked for the recipe so I could try to make them myself.  I have never been able to make shortbread cookies without somehow screwing them up but now I had her recipe and I was determined!  So here is our family friend’s exact recipe.

This makes about 150+ little cookies ( I know that seems like a lot but they’re so small and cute and you can eat like 10 in one sitting!)

2 cups salted butter, room temperature  (I like to bake with unsalted butter so I just added in a couple pinches of salt). /  1 cup icing sugar  /  1/2 tsp vanilla extract  /  4 cups all-purpose flour   /  holiday sprinkles

And you’ll need mini holiday cookie cutters, they’re roughly half the size of regular cookie cutters.  Of course you can always use regular cookie cutters and make these for whenever, not just the holidays!

image

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Using a stand mixer or electric hand held mixer on high speed, cream the butter until light and fluffy.  Next, add in the vanilla and then gradually mix in the icing sugar and flour.  Roll out half the dough on lightly floured parchment paper or wax paper to about 1/4 inch thick.  Using your little cookie cutters, stamp out your cookies and gently apply some sprinkles to each cookie.

image

Bake for about 10 minutes on a parchment lined baking sheet, keeping an eye on them as they shouldn’t get any colour and still be white when you take them out.  Let them sit on the baking tray for about 5 min and then transfer to a cooling rack.  Repeat with the rest of your dough.

My first batch turned a tiny bit brown on the edges and I was minorly devestated.  I was being rather dramatic as I thought, I f***ed them up, I’ll never be able to make shortbread! They still tasted great but I guess just visually it’s nice to get the all-white cookie.  I just wanted them to be exactly the same as the ones our family friend makes!  Anyway, I was using Rock’s mom’s oven and unfamiliar with it, I had it accidentally on convection, oops.  In the end, I got my magical shortbread cookies! Joy!

image

 

 

One thought on “my holiday obsession: Christmas shortbread cookies

Leave a Reply

