Memphis Blues cornbread

I really like the restaurant Memphis Blues back home in Vancouver and I’ve made their spice rub and barbecue sauce for pulled pork loads of times.  Now I wanted to try making their cornbread which I all of a sudden was really missing.  I don’t think I’ve ever actually had cornbread from any other place but I know I really like their cornbread.  And I don’t even particularly like corn that much!  I found a copy of their recipe online and off I went.

1/2 cup butter  /  2 tbsp honey  /  1 and 1/2 cups whole milk  /  3/4 cup creamed corn  /  3 eggs  /  1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour  /  1/2 cup corn flour (which I couldn’t find, though I didn’t really try very hard.  I just substituted with another 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour)  /  1 cup corn meal  /  1 tbsp plus 2 tsp baking powder  /  1 tsp sugar  /  a good pinch of salt

image

Preheat your oven to 425F.  In a medium saucepan, melt together the butter and honey over medium heat and then set aside to cool.  While that’s cooling, combine all the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.  Next, add the milk, eggs and creamed corn to the cooled butter mixture and whisk to mix.  Now gradually pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture while whisking until everything is all combined and there are no lumps.

image

Just for fun, I decided to bake the cornbread in a cast iron skillet (10″) but you can just use a square brownie pan or a springform cake pan.  Line the skillet or pan with parchment paper and then simply pour your batter in.  Fill a small oven proof dish or something similar with some water and place on your bottom baking rack.  (I was going to skip this step but it’s not like it’s hard and I figured it helps keep the cornbread moist or something.)  Now just pop the cornbread into the oven for 30 to 35 minutes or when the top is golden brown and a toothpick or uncooked spaghetti noodle comes out clean.

image

image

It turned out great!  Slice into squares and enjoy!

 

3 thoughts on “Memphis Blues cornbread

  1. I love corn bead and am excited to try making it myself! Wondering if you have an ingredient missing in your list though? I see corn meal in your picture of ingredients but not in the list.
    Thanks and keep up the good work!

    • Shannon, you are so right!! I forgot to list the 1 cup of corn meal. Thank you for pointing it out! Definitely try out the recipe, it turns out great with a slightly crispy top and nice and moist throughout.

Leave a Reply

