roasted garlic cauliflower mash

I am obsessed with Chrissy Teigen’s cookbook that just came out, Cravings. I already made one of her recipes this past weekend, a jalapeño-cheese-tuna casserole topped with crushed potato chips (my first ever casserole, both for cooking and eating!)  Before, I only knew her from instagram but now I know she is my spirit animal.   Anyway, Rock has been gone for over 2 weeks for work and I’ve been solo with our kiddo who has since decided he only wants to eat fruit, baby food pouches, cheese and occasionally scrambled eggs.  But the recipe from the cookbook for cauliflower mash with ricotta and roasted garlic seemed like something he may eat and, even if he didn’t, I wanted to eat it.

This is adapted from Chrissy’s recipe because hers makes enough for 8 people which is way too much for our 1.5 people.  Plus, I was only able to pick up a small organic cauliflower from the grocery store which obviously was not the giant head of cauliflower she’s talking about in her recipe.  Oh and she has an interesting way of ‘roasting’ garlic (yielding also roasted garlic oil which I didn’t include) on the stovetop but I decided to just do it my usual way in the oven.  If you’ve never roasted garlic before, I explain how in this post.

This makes enough as a side for 2 to 3 people.

1 small/medium head of cauliflower  /  1/2 cup ricotta cheese  /  2 tbsp butter  /  1/2 head of roasted garlic  /  salt and pepper to taste

image

If you haven’t done it yet, roast your garlic!  Tear or cut up the cauliflower into florets and just plunk them into a large pot of boiling salted water.  Let it cook for about 15 to 20 minutes or until the florets are fork-tender.  Strain and let the cauliflower dry on some paper towel just to make sure they’re as dry as can be.  I guess ‘cus if you don’t you’ll end up with soppy mush!

image

Now just throw everything into a food processor and blitz until your desired consistency.  This is supposed to be kind of like a carb-free mashed potatoes and I like  my mashed potatoes super smooth so I wanted the same for this.

image

roasted garlic cauliflower mash

I don’t know if this dish is the most photogenic but it turned out delicious!  I can count the number of times I’ve eaten cauliflower probably on one hand but I really enjoyed this.  And my 1 year old actually ended up eating this… with half a grape embedded in each spoonful…which is kinda gross but whatever it takes to get those veggies in!

Leave a Reply

