raisin bran muffins

One of the only things I remember baking with my mom when I was growing up is bran muffins (and cupcakes from Betty Crocker cake mix).  I don’t know why but I suddenly really wanted to make those exact same muffins but had no recipe. All I could remember was that we used Kellogg’s All-Bran cereal.  I figured my mom must’ve just clipped a recipe off the back of a cereal box and lo and behold, I found “the Original All-Bran muffins: the treat that started it all!” recipe online.

Anyway, I didn’t end up making the exact muffins I was daydreaming of ‘cus Rock wanted raisins in them and he wanted them to be a bit healthier.  Since I love him, I said OOOOK.  So I adapted this from the “Original” recipe which now I can sleep well at night knowing that it’s just a click away on the internet.  These raisin-ier and slightly healthier muffins turned out great and they still brought me back to my childhood.

2 cups All-Bran original cereal  /  1 and 1/4 cups milk  /  1 egg  /  1/4 cup grapeseed oil  /  1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour  /  1 cup whole wheat flour  /  1/2 cup coconut palm sugar (or regular granulated sugar)  /  1/2 cup raisins  /  1 tbsp baking powder  /  1/4 tsp salt  /  2 tbsp ground flax seed (optional)

image

Preheat the oven to 400F.  In a large mixing bowl, mix together the cereal and the milk and let the cereal soften up for a couple of minutes.  In a medium size bowl, combine the all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, sugar, flax seed, baking powder, salt and raisins.  Now to the cereal-milk mixture, beat in the oil and the egg.

image

Next, stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix just until combined (don’t over-mix).  Using just a regular spoon, portion out into 12 paper liner-lined muffin cups.  Bake for 20 minutes.

image

Let them cool for about 10 minutes and then eat while warm!  Although like every time we make muffins, we let them cool for about 1 minute before taking a bite.

image

Leave a Reply

