vegan mexican chocolate pie

This recipe from the New York Times popped up in my newsfeed this past weekend and I just had to try it.  It’s made with tofu and I was just so curious to see how it would turn out.  The recipe calls for silken tofu which I couldn’t find (though I didn’t go on a Moose Jaw-wide hunt or anything) so I used soft tofu instead. I did some research on tofu after I already bought the stuff and turns out silken tofu is the super soft, high moisture content tofu that hasn’t been pressed.  Soooooo, not the same as soft tofu.  Dammit! I decided my pie would be a disaster but I figured I’d give it a go anyway to see what happens. Well it turned out pretty great!  I guess with the silken tofu you’d get more of a mousse-like texture but with the soft tofu it’s kinda like a cheesecake.  Tofu cheesecake!!  And even if you’re thinking, ew tofu, well this doesn’t taste at all like tofu.  I swear you wouldn’t even know there was tofu in it if someone didn’t tell you.  The only thing is I found it a bit too sweet for my taste so next time I’d dial back the sugar in both the crust and filling (I’m giving the reduced amounts here).

for the crust:  10 whole graham crackers (you’ll end up with 1 and 1/4 cups crumbs)  /  2 tbsp sugar  /  4 tbsp coconut oil, melted  /  1 tbsp almond milk

for the pie filling:  500 g silken or soft tofu  /  1/2 cup sugar  /  8 oz high quality bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, melted  /  1 tsp vanilla extract  /  1 and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon  /  1/4 tsp cayenne powder  /  a pinch of salt  /  chocolate shavings to top (optional)

image

Preheat your oven to 350F and lightly spray a 9 inch pie plate with some non-stick cooking spray (I used some coconut oil Pam that we’re trying out).  Throw the graham crackers into a food processor or blender and blitz until you get fine crumbs.  Add the sugar, coconut oil and almond milk and just blend until everything starts to kinda clump together.  Using the back of a spoon or your fingers, press the crumbs evenly into the bottom of your pie plate.  Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until it’s lightly golden and then let it cool while you move onto your filling.

Dissolve the sugar in 1/2 a cup of boiling water.  Now simply put the sugary water and the rest of the ingredients for the pie filling (except for the chocolate shavings if you’re using them) into a food processor or blender and blend until totally smooth.

image

Pour the filling over the crust and then take a piece of cling wrap and smooth it directly onto the pie filling.  Pop it into the fridge for at least 4 hours and that’s it.  You can garnish it with some chocolate shavings if you’d like.  I know my photo of the pie is not the most photogenic thing ever but really, it was delicious.  Even if you aren’t a fan of tofu, this is definitely worth trying!

image

One thought on “vegan mexican chocolate pie

  1. this looks so fun. you could even experiment with pie flavors that are usually associated with tofu, like a sweet ginger soy sauce flavor

Leave a Reply

