spaghetti with mizithra cheese & browned butter

I haven’t been in probably a few years now but I’ve eaten at the Old Spaghetti Factory restaurants in Vancouver and Victoria more times in my life than I could possibly count.  My absolute favourite thing to order there is the spaghetti with mizithra cheese and browned butter.  Mizithra (or myzithra) is a Greek cheese made from sheep’s milk and it is sooooo good.  Anyway, I am obsessed with this dish and I had been recently full on fantasizing about eating it again.  I used to bring back a wedge or two of mizithra from Vancouver whenever I went but I figured there must be somewhere that sells the stuff in Regina.  And then last weekend I discovered the most magical place!  We had driven by  Italian Star Deli a million times and I always said we should check it out but never did.  Then this past weekend we finally did and they had lots of imported stuff from Italy, Greece, Hungary, South Africa, that I had been wanting to get my hands on, including mizithra.  I told Rock it was the happiest day of my life, which is not true, but that’s how excited I was about this deli.

OK, now that I’ve rambled on I’ll get to it.  I’ll be honest, I never was patient enough to actually brown butter and more like just melted it.  But last night I finally took the extra like 3 minutes or so to actually brown butter and it really does make a huge difference.  I’ll never be so impatient with butter again.  This copycat recipe wasn’t so hard to figure out since the dish is literally just spaghetti, mizithra and browned butter but somehow these 3 things together is just the best thing ever.

2 portions of spaghetti  /  ~ 1 cup finely shredded myzithra cheese  /  ~4 rounded tbsp of unsalted butter  /  fresh parsley, finely chopped (optional)

image

Cook your spaghetti in salted boiling water until al dente.  In the meantime, in a small saucepan over medium heat, brown your butter.  After the butter has melted, it will start foaming a bit.  Keep an eye on it ‘cus it will quite suddenly brown and you don’t want it to burn.  You can use a spoon to kinda push the foam to the side to check but you’ll see the milk solids at the bottom of the saucepan start to brown and you’ll smell a sweet, kinda nutty aroma.  That’s what you’re waiting for and as soon as you’ve reached that point, remove from the heat.

image

And then all you have to do is toss your drained cooked spaghetti with the browned butter and then toss in the mizithra cheese and parsley.  The cheese itself is a bit salty so you can taste it first but if you want you can add a bit of sea salt.

image

Butter, cheese and carbs.  Everything I love, together on my plate.

2 thoughts on “spaghetti with mizithra cheese & browned butter

  1. oh wow i’ve never heard of this cheese before. it looks like it shreds finely like parmesan. what’s the texture like?

    • The aged version is a hard cheese like parmesan but it tastes very different. If you can get a hold of some of this cheese, it’s definitely worth trying!

Leave a Reply

