cheesy black bean dip

I don’t know what’s going on.  I don’t even like beans but I found myself craving this dip that we had at my friend’s house about a month back.  It’s probably ‘cus I love anything with cheese in it and, really, who doesn’t love a good dip?  My friend graciously shared her mom’s recipe for this dip with us.  I may or may not have used a lot (almost double) more than the amount of cheese the recipe calls for.  (I did.)

1 tin of black beans, drained and rinsed  /  1 tsp canola (I used avocado) oil  /  1 small onion, finely chopped  /  2 cloves garlic, minced  /  1 large tomato, chopped  /  1/2 cup salsa  /  1/2 tsp cumin  /  1/2 tsp hot chilli powder  /  1 tbsp lime juice  /  1 cup old cheddar or monterey jack cheese (I used both)  /  1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro (I just garnished with a few sprigs ‘cus my cilantro plant hasn’t grown enough for 1/2 a cup yet! )

image

Mash the beans with a potato masher or a fork until they’re kinda chunky.  Heat up the oil in a pan over medium heat and sauté the chopped onion and the garlic for a few minutes or until the onions have softened up.  Next, add in the beans, tomato, salsa, cumin and hot chilli powder and cook for about 5 minutes, giving it a stir every so often.

image

Take off the heat, and If you want your dip kinda chunky, now stir in the lime juice, cheese and cilantro.  Since I’m easing myself into eating beans (I don’t like the texture of beans, but I’m suddenly wanting to eat them…what is happening!?), I decided I wanted a pretty smooth dip so before adding in the cheese, etc., I pureed the dip with a hand blender.  Then I added in the lime and cheeses and garnished with cilantro.  Up to you if you want the dip chunky or smooth, it’ll taste great either way!  You can serve this warm or at room temperature with some tortilla chips.

image

Leave a Reply

