hawaiian kalua pork (in an instant pot)

We got an Instant Pot some months back and have to say, we are loving it! Especially now with both a toddler and a newborn, I don’t really have much time (or sanity!) to spend a lot of time cooking.  My latest Instant Pot experiment is this kalua pork recipe which is something I decided to try solely because I have some Hawaiian alaea sea salt that I picked up last summer when we were in Honolulu.  To be perfectly honest, probably the last time I had kalua pork was on family vacation as a kid at one of those tourist luaus so I can’t say how authentic this tastes.  And while I’m fairly certain that an entire pig super slow cooked underground in a pit would be way more amazing, this turned out pretty damn good.

So I read through a bunch of recipes for kalua pork and in the end I accidentally combined a few recipes together.  Only realized it after I had all my ingredients thrown into the pot. Oops!  I also did things as lazily as possible.  But it turned out really yummy so no complaints here.  Rock’s already decided we’ll be making this again.  If you don’t have alaea sea salt, I’m sure any coarse sea salt will be fine and I found liquid smoke at just my local supermarket.

~ 5 lb pork butt/shoulder, cut into 2 or 3 chunks (I had 2 roughly 2 lb cuts)  /  3 slices of bacon  /  1 and 1/2 tbsp coarse alaea sea salt /  1 tbsp liquid smoke (I used hickory)  /  1 cup water

IMG_1031

Set your Instant Pot on sauté and cook the bacon for a few minutes and then press ‘cancel.’  Leaving the bacon in the bottom, toss in the pork butt and sprinkle over the sea salt.  Then pour in the water and add the liquid smoke.

IMG_1032

Lock the lid on, set the vent to sealed and press the ‘manual’ button and set to 90 minutes.  And that’s it!  When it’s done, release the steam and the pork should be fork tender and practically falling apart.

IMG_1033

Take the pork out and shred with a couple of forks and you can mix in some of the cooking liquid (and delicious fat!)  We ate this with some soft dinner rolls and salad and then had leftovers to boot.

kalua pork in an instant pot

Leave a Reply

