roasted cauliflower, feta, and orzo salad

I made this salad from Chrissy Teigen’s Cravings yesterday for a barbecue with Rock’s sailing buddies and it turned out AMAZING. Which I’m not surprised by ‘cus everything I’ve made so far from this cookbook is really good.  I’m obsessed with this cookbook and even gifted it to both my sister and cousin this past Christmas.  Anyway, I only tweaked this a little by using less salt and substituting dried cranberries for dried cherries.  I have a Costco-size bag of craisins that I need to get through!  Rock loved this and had multiple servings of it last night so I’m sure we’ll make it again. And maybe try it with quinoa instead of orzo to make us feel like we’re oh so healthy.

for the cauliflower and orzo: 1 head of cauliflower, broken into little florets (about 5 cups or so)  /  4 tbsp olive oil  /  3 cloves garlic, mined  /  1 tsp salt (I used maybe 1/2)  /  1/2 tsp ground black pepper  /  1 cup orzo pasta

for the dressing and salad:  3 tbsp olive oil  /  3 tbsp fresh lemon juice  /  1 tsp honey  /  1 tsp dijon mustard  /  1/2 tsp salt  /  1/2 tsp ground black pepper  /  1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion  /  1 cup crumbled feta cheese  /  2/3 cup dried cherries (or cranberries!)  /  4 cups baby spinach

IMG_1082

Preheat the oven to 400F and toss the cauliflower with 3 tbsp of the olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper and then spread on a baking sheet.  Roast in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes; until softened.  Set aside to cool and move onto the orzo.

IMG_1083

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and cook the orzo for 1 to 2 minutes less than the package’s cooking directions as you want it slightly underdone.  I cooked mine for about 5 minutes.  Drain and run under cold water and drain again.  Then just toss the orzo with the remaining 1 tbsp of olive oil.

Then to assemble the salad! I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl as I didn’t want to dress the salad right away but you can just mix it straight in the bowl you’re going to serve in.  Whisk together the olive oil, lemon juice, honey, dijon mustard, salt and pepper.  Then just throw everything else in there and give it a good toss.

IMG_1084

That’s the only photo I took of the salad, minus the dressing, as we were running out the door so it’s not the best.  This salad deserves a better photo!

Leave a Reply

