cooking, drinks, Food, recipe, Uncategorized

ultimate hot chocolate mix

Tis the season for hot chocolate!  I just made a giant double batch jar of this awesome hot chocolate mix from Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food cookbook.  It makes a really chocolatey (thanks to the dark chocolate AND cocoa), and most importantly thick (thanks to the cornstarch), hot chocolate, which I really like.  Feels super indulgent. Nothing worse than a watery hot chocolate!

For 16 servings.

7 oz good quality dark chocolate  /  1 cup good quality cocoa powder  /  3/4 cup icing sugar  /  1/3 cup cornstarch  /  1/3 cup malted milk powder like Ovaltine or Horlicks  /  pinch of sea salt

IMG_4086

Put the chocolate in the fridge to chill for about 30 minutes (I was impatient so stuck it in the freezer instead) and then chop in a food processor with a pinch of salt until fine.

IMG_4087

I just have a mini food processor so I did this in two batches.  If you have a large food processor, just add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until mixed.  Mine’s too small so I just mixed everything by hand in a large bowl.  (More like I put my toddler to work. Ha! He did some mixing and some getting chocolate all over my pants.)

IMG_4088

OK and that’s it for the mix!  Just keep it in an airtight jar and you’re ready to make yourself a fresh mug of hot chocolate whenever.

To make one serving of hot chocolate, put 1 cup of milk (I use almond milk) and 2 heaping tablespoons of the hot chocolate mix into a saucepan.  Simmer over medium heat for about 5 minutes, stirring it regularly.  It’ll really thicken up.

IMG_4091

Pour into a mug and add some mini marshmallows, fresh grating of chocolate, cinnamon or whatever you want.

IMG_4093

 

2 thoughts on “ultimate hot chocolate mix”

  1. Hi Dee
    Is there an easy way to print out just the text from your recipes?
    There are several I want to try. Or shall I say, there are several that I want Peter to make so that I can try them. 😉

    Debbie Chang
    (Heathers’ Mom)

    1. Hi! Sorry I haven’t looked at messages on here in a long time! I’m not really sure how to print out just the text unfortunately (I’m not that technology savvy!) Maybe copy and paste? Hope you guys are well!

Leave a comment